Indian Railway main logo Welcome to Indian Railways View Content in Hindi
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About PLW

Indent & Supply


News & Announcement

Vendor Information

Tender Information

Knowledge Corner

Contact Us

SMS Inquiry

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Loco Assembly Shops

Loco Assembly Shops

Organisation Chart of Loco Assembly Shops



Loco Assembly Shops comprise of Loco Assembly Shop (LAS), Electrical & Commissioning Shop (ECS), Air Brake Shop (ABS) and Light Fabrication Shop (LFS).

Earlier, Loco Assembly Shops were engaged in rebuilding/manufacturing of ALCo locomotives to feed the requirement of Indian Railway as well as Non Railway Customers. It has rebuilt and commissioned 02 ALCo locomotives successfully of Tanzania Railways during 2008-09 & 2009-10. As on date, the total 2298 nos. of ALCo locomotives have been rebuild and 327 ALCo locomotives have been manufactured. This includes total 35 locos rebuilt/manufactured for Non Railway Costumers.

Loco Assembly Shop of DMW has taken another giant leap with successful manufacturing of WDM3D locomotive  for the first time in 2011 and the first 2400 HP Multi Gen Set Loco in 2013  conforming to US EPA TIER II Environmental Norms on Indian Railways .

To cater the additional requirement of Electric Locomotives for Indian Railways, Loco Assembly Shops of DMW started manufacturing 3-Phase IGBT based WAP7 locomotives and the first WAP7 locomotives was manufactured and turned out in Feb 2018.

     WAP7 Locomotive :
  • 6000 HP with IGBT based 3 phase propulsion system.
  • Maximum speed = 140 kmph
  • Single Loco can haul 24-26 Coaches passenger train
  • Fitted with regenerative braking
  • Microprocessor based fault diagnostic fitted with system.
  • Hotel load convertor for Head- on-Generation eliminates need of one power car in Rajdhani/Shatabdi Exp. Trains.

Adding one more major product, Loco Assembly Shops of DMW was also entrusted with the task of manufacturing new 8-W Diesel Electric Tower Cars with under-slung engine (DETC/US). The design and other important technical aspects of 8W-DETC/US were quickly assimilated from ICF Chennai and the first 8W-DETC/US was manufactured and turned out on 31.12.2018.

8-Wheeler Diesel Electric Tower/Under Slung:
  • Self Propelled Unit for OHE inspection and maintenance.
  • Maximum operating Speed 110 KMPH
  • Axle Load 20 Ton (Approx.)
  • No. of Power Packs 2

Present Activities

Presently Loco Assembly Shops are involved in series production of Electric Locomotives (WAG9/WAP7) & 8W-DETCs. Till Feb 2021 it has manufactured and turned out total 188 WAP7 locomotives and 122 8W-DETC/US (including 2 for Non Railway Customer).

During 2020-21 53 WAP7, 5 WAG9H & 75 8W-DETC/US have been planned for manufacturing.


3-phase WAG-9HC Electric Loco:
  • 6000 HP with IGBT-based 3-phase Propulsion System.
  • Maximum Speed 110 KMPH
  • Axle Load 22.5 Ton
  • Higher Starting Tractive Effort: 510kN
  • Fitted with regenerative braking
  • Fitted with Microprocessor-based fault diagnostic system

New Initiatives

Old WDG3A ALCo Diesel locomotives has been planned to be converted into Electric Locomotives.  The first prototype of WAG10 loco is currently under manufacture and scheduled to be turned out during 2020-21.


Diesel to Electric Converted Loco-WAG10 :
  • Twin Co-Co Locomotive
  • Axle load 21,5 Ton
  • Horse Power (HP) 5000x2=10000
  • Max. Speed 105 KMPH
  • Very high starting Tractive effort (43 x2T)
  • Suitable for heavy haul freight operations

Future Plans

During 2021-22, Loco Assembly Shops of DMW has planned to manufacture 114 WAP7/WAG9H & 85 DETCs.


Source : Welcome to PLW Official Website ! CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 25-09-2021  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.